Studien für das Pianoforte nach Capricen von Paganini bearbeitet op.3
composed in 1832 

Agitato, A minor
Allegretto, E major
Andante, C major
Allegro, B-flat major
Lento, E-flat major
Molto Allegro, G minor

Robert Schumann first heard Paganini in a concert in Frankfurt, which had been an “inspiration to be more diligent, though he displayed a marked lack of great, noble, priestly artistic pose.” This experience had strengthened Schumann’s resolve to become a musician. The Etudes are piano transcriptions of some of Paganini’s Caprices for solo violin. Schumann stayed very true to the violin line, but at the same time experimented with the sound possibilities of the piano. Schumann wrote in his diary in 1832: “The beautiful G minor Caprice by Paganini. The day before yesterday I saw a picture that made a horrible impression — Paganini exercising his enchantment — a murdered woman — dancing skeletons and wafting, magnetic misting ghosts; yet the composition of the picture was not without fantasy and life. It appeared to me often during the writing of the Presto in G minor, and I believe that the ending recalls it especially.”

Translation: William Melton
© Franz Vorraber