composed 1832-1845 
Impromptu (1832)
Leides Ahnung (1835)
Scherzino (1832)
Walzer (1835)
Phantasietanz (1836)
Wiegenliedchen (1843)
Ländler (1836)
Leid ohne Ende (1837)
Impromtu (1838)
Walzer (1838)
Romanze (1835)
Burla (1832)
Larghetto (1832)
Vision (1838)
Walzer (1832) 
Schlummerlied (1841)
Elfe (1835)
Botschaft (1838)
Phantasiestück (1839)
Canon (1845)
The Albumblätter, op. 124, were described by Schumann as “chaff” from his compositional workshop. The work presents a series of twenty short pieces, some of which stem from much earlier sketches. In No. 2 “Leides Ahnung” (“Premonition of Suffering”) we see the descending fourth from the Sonata in G minor (this piece was originally the fifth number of the second version of the Beethoven Etudes). The “Larghetto,” No. 13, composed 1832, was later used as the theme of the variation movement in the String Quartet No. 2. In a diary entry for 1838, Schumann wrote of “Vision,” No. 14: “Yesterday was a thoroughly productive working day—wrote to Clara somewhat angrily because of the deadline—then such a spate of poetic fire came over me (poem for Clara) that I could not stop. In the evening thoughts of a Fata Morgana (Vision) for Clara; I did not see another person the whole day long.” Much later in 1841, after he was married to Clara, came the “Schlummerlied” (“Lullaby”). Clara wrote, “He presented me and Mariechen (their first daughter) with a charming lullaby, which he composed on the afternoon of Christmas Day.

Translation: William Melton
© Franz Vorraber